D.A.V. College, Abohar Congratulates all The 40 students who got selected in Wipro Placement Drive Conducted on 15th-16th October,2018.



Department of Commerce and Business Management


Department of commerce was established in the year 1982 with the start of B.Com course. Later on B.B.A. and M.Com classes were added and the department was upgraded as post-Graduate Department of Commerce and Business Management. Focusing on the development of the new cadre of business professionals with the global vision, the department constantly organizes various activities to give exposure and experience to the students for their all-round growth & development. The department has been making its contribution in the complex and multidisciplinary field of commerce and management through its programmes. Department has organized various activities like placement drives, industrial visit, personality development programmes, corporate mentor programmes. The department has a strong track record of 100% results and coveted university positions as also fruitful placements of its alumni in the corporate sector across the globe. The alumni of the department has a galaxy of reputed Chartered  Accountants, Managers, Corporate Executives, Bank Officers, School and College lecturers, University Professors, successful business men, Industrialists, Consultants, Military Officers, Civil Servants and self employed in various fields. Organizing seminars, conferences, extension lectures, group discussion on topics of interest and utility is a regular feature of the department besides organizing routine activities for the students. The department has been organizing Entrepreneurship Development Programmes, Management Development Programmes and Industrial Motivation Campaigns in association with MSME, Ludhiana. Department has the honour of organizing two National Conferences in the year 2012 on topic Financial Turmoil in Western  Economies and its impact on Indian Economy and 2016 on Make in India.



Names of Programmes/ Courses offered:

B.Com (Bachelor of Commerce)                                             3-Years course

B.Com Honours’ in Finance (Bachelor of Commerce)           3-Years course 

B.B.A (Bachelor of Business Administration)                         3-Years course

M.Com (Master of Commerce)                                                2-Years course

Computer Based Accounting                                                   Add-On-Course

Advertising and Sales Management                                         Add-On-Course

Department Activities:

The department has a Commerce society comprising of the teacher in charge and the students of various classes. This society keeps on organizing various activities for students’ development aiming at giving them practical exposure.

  • Inaugural function of the department
  • Career counseling program
  • Business Quiz
  • National Conferences
  • Placement Drive
  • Extension Lecture

Department Highlight:

  • Departmental Library at an easy access for students.
  • Free books given to meritorious students.
  • Top positions in university exams.

            Student Development Programmes:

  • Personality Development  Programs
  • Corporate Mentor Programs
  • Workshops  (One day workshop on online payment gateways ; One day workshop on e-filing of Income Tax Returns)
  • Seminars (One day seminar on uses and abuses of social media)
  • Extension Lectures
  • Group Discussion
  • Socio-Economic Survey of different sections of society

National Seminar/ Conferences organized by the department:

  • UGC sponsored One Day National Conference on “Financial Turmoil in Western Economies & Its Impact on Indian Economy” on November 29, 2012.
  • One Day National Conference on “Make in India: Challenges & Opportunities” on January 08, 2016.

List of Books Publications by the Staff of Department:

Books by Sh. Jawahar Lal Aggarwal:

  • Corporate Accounting        Sharma Publication, Jalandhar       ISBN 978-93-82704-57-7
  • Basic Accounting               Sharma Publication, Jalandhar       ISBN 978-93-82704-56-0
  • Financial Accounting         Sharma Publication, Jalandhar       ISBN 978-93-82704-54-6

       Books by Mrs. Jyotsna:

  • Basic Accounting             Sharma Publication, Jalandhar       ISBN 978-93-82704-56-0            
  • Business Law                   Sharma Publication, Jalandhar       ISBN 978-93-82704-55-3

List of Faculty Members

  1. Mrs Harvinder Kaur              This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.     Associate Professor     M.Com
  2. Sh Gaurav Vij                                                                    Assistant Professor      M.Com, M.Phil
  3. Sh Vijay Chhabra                                                              Assistant Professor      M. Com.
  4. Sh Kunal  Sharma                                                             Assistant Professor      M. Com., CS
  5. Mrs Rashmi Kamra              This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.      Assistant Professor       M.Com., M.Phil.,
  6. Sh Jyoti Parkash                                                               Assistant Professor                                                                                                                               MBA, PGDM, MA(Eco.)
  7. Mrs Jyotsna                                                                      Assistant Professor
  8. Ms. Shreya Khatri                                                            Lecturer
  9. Ms. Preeti Bansal                                                             Lecturer
  10. Ms. Ritu Kalra                                                                 Lecturer
  11. Ms. Aditi Baghla                                                             Lecturer
  12. Ms. Sakshi Gidder                                                           Lecturer
  13. Ms. Anuradha Khera                                                       Lecturer
  14. Ms. Kokila Bansal                                                           Lecturer
  15. Ms. Namrata                                                                    Lecturer
  16. Ms. Preksha Jain                                                             Lecturer
  17. Ms. Saloni Punchi                                                           Lecturer